top of page

TERESA


I was just talking with some friends recently about how we often get up in the morning with a particular song ringing in our brains. Sometimes it's a good song and you're happy that it sprung up in the "jukebox of your memory"(Ani Difranco); sometimes it's one of those songs that you dislike profoundly and have no idea what your brain is doing that to you for. Today I woke up with a song from one of my former musical projects called Teresa, a song called "Ich vermisse dich" which I love. I uploaded it for the occasion.

Teresa, formerly known as The Theresas, formerly known as Los The Bandoleros (or LTB), was a musical project originated by my friend Mata. He'd get mad if I started singing his praise here, so I'm gonna bite my tongue and simply say that he's a volcano of creativity, and although his thing is actually drawing (mind-blowingly well), he's also a very good writer, including writer of songs, and more specifically, writer of great lyrics (if you can't speak Spanish, I'm afraid you're gonna miss the best bit about this project). But the videos are fun to watch, very DIY haha!

It started almost like a game, a past-time, if you will. He'd come over with a simple recording of some chords and vocals and I would make an instrumental version of it, we'd record his vocals lastly, and there you go, one song after another. Everything was done in a constant giggle, it was a really good time, and in the blink of an eye we were already finishing a second collection of songs that we called "albums", although I don't think Mata had any wish to release them or cared to do anything about them other than completing them. That's how prolific he is, he keeps doing stuff, all the time... I don't think he sleeps much. Let's watch another video.

We dragged the photographer Ismael Tato into the project at some point and decided to shoot some videos and prepare for some eventual gigs, but that particular bit never happened, as I heard the China call and left Barcelona to heed it. Just when things were getting serious, my friend would argue... What can I say? I am The Tick Collector, I and there were some ticks still missing in my list of dreams.

Recently we talked again about resuming our cooperation soon in the distance, which is good news, as I really miss doing stuff with my good old friend. Keep an ear out for Teresa. And enjoy the last video!

bottom of page