top of page

An album in quarters (IV)


We've come to the album Arts & Crafts and Frankensteins' last two songs, "So Far So Good" and "Smart Guy". They bear certain similarities, as they were both composed on the piano, and they are the least acoustic-sounding songs in the album.

"So Far So good", I was a young young thing when I put all my heartbreak and frustration into this sad sad song. I guess that was my way to cope: in the song, out of my system. Not that simple, really, but translating your dark moments to the music you make is cathartic, and it does help getting over things. Have a listen, if you will:

So far, so good, I've just understood/ From all the times together you choose the last to keep in view/ And all this hate… we’re just two steps away but you won’t look my way/ And if you just did… there ain’t no stranger here/ It’s just me outside your heart/ The same one you used to love, but I think I’m not/ The same you silently hate, the you carefully ignore/ It’s not enough that I gave you it all to get some credit here/ Let’s exchange photographs/ Laughter for tears/ These last are all that you wanna keep/ When you don’t need to hate me you’ll/ Throw them away/ And then there’ll be nothing/ As if nothing ever happened, as the nothing we are now/ As if nothing we were then is anything now to anyone/ I used to spin around to capture your heart/ Now I have to do so to keep that last bond untouched/ But I get tired, I get nothing but harm, so I think I’ll quit

And the very last one, "Smart Guy". This one was written with a certain type of person in mind, the kind that believe being aggressive to get their goals is the only way to do it, and anyone not doing the same is lame and in denial; those who think empathy equals weakness, money equals success and control equals well-being. To those I say, stop it, you're only messing things up for everyone.

I always try to keep in mind/ that I might not be right/ He let out a snort and said:"That sounds to me / like a sign of insecurity"./ Rather say not contemplating this/ is just sheer stupidity/ That's what I wish I had said,/ But it takes some time for my wit to wake/ Little twigs of amazement/ glued with saliva/ The twigs as rare/ as a piece of good news/ like when David defeats Goliath/ Little twigs of endurance/ glued with saliva/ That's how sturdy the nest of my hope is/ but it's survived many riots/ Looking confident, it was my guess,/ matters more than learning stuff/ And never mind how terribly wrong you are/ As long as you thin you're right/ When the little twig labelled 'understanding'/ fell off and hit the ground/ it didn't even make a sound/ Across the table nothing was heard/ He probably though he'd said something smart.

Well, that's it, 11 songs to show for approximately 3 years of recordings. I hope you'll like them enough to keep an eye out for Hel, Elena Marco, Yours Truly, and the music that she has yet to show.

bottom of page